Pipeline Project: 1st Week

I have chosen Sarah Lemme’s project about the day of the dead photo manipulation. I chose this project because I liked the concept but I also felt that my photographic abilities could be strongly beneficial. My group is doing 4 photos of a model during her life, illness, death and rebirth. We will use traditional cultural supporting materials, such as flowers, sugar skulls, and other various items. We will shoot this is in studio under studio lighting and we will shoot a behind the scenes documentary to show along with our images. We are also trying to get a gallery space to show our project as well.

marigolds sugar skull sugar skull 2

Sugar skull examples

I was put on the props and set design team. I am in charge of getting the flowers and taking care of them, drying them and making them look right for the shoot. I will also be helping put the coffin that we will be making together. I may also help out with the sugar skulls and we will all be working on the actual photo shoot together. I went to deMonye’s greenhouse and checked out some of their plants as research and i will be looking at other places as well.

Some of my photos that involve flowers:

IMG_9040 20IMG_6348IMG_6349 IMG_1729 IMG_1735 IMG_1741 IMG_1745

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment